Skip to main content


Hayward teacher receives Presidential Award
Posted 7/3/18


Hayward, CA—The White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP), with the National Science Foundation (NSF), announced this week that more than 140 individuals and organizations were honored with presidential awards for their excellence in teaching or mentoring in science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM).


Nancy Wright, a science teacher at Lorin Eden Elementary School in Hayward and a science TOSA (teacher on special assignment) for the Hayward Unified School District, was the only science teacher from California to receive the honor.


The Presidential Award for Excellence in Math and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest award given by the U.S. government to educators that teach mathematics and science in grades kindergarten through 12th.


"I am extremely honored to be receiving the Presidential Award," stated Wright. "This award motivates me to become a better educator and advocate for science education," she added.


A panel of distinguished mathematicians, scientists and educators at the state and national levels review nominee applications and recommend finalists to the OSTP. Teachers are selected based on their distinction in the classroom and dedication to improving STEM education.

View the full press release from the National Science Foundation.