Skip To Main Content

Family Engagement Specialist (FES)

phot of the Family Engagement Specialist

About FES

In the fall of 2018, the Hayward Unified School District allocated district funding to support a Family Engagement, Outreach & Equity Specialist position, also known as the Family Engagement Specialist (FES), to work at least 15 hours at all 30 HUSD schools.  Family Engagement Specialist encourages and coordinates parent education and involvement in various District and school programs and other activities to ensure equity of opportunity and access; perform liaison duties among staff, community resources and parents; refer families to local agencies or services as appropriate; utilize and update designated District communication and outreach portals and protocols.

FES Resources

Data

Monthly Staff Meetings

  • September 1, 2023 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • October 6, 2023 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • November 3, 2023 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • December 1, 2023 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • January 5, 2024 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • February 2, 2024 - 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
  • March 1, 2024 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • April 12, 2024 - 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
  • May 3, 2024 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
  • June 2, 2024 - 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM

Preschool

School

Staff Email Phone
Helen Turner VACANT fj343@husd.k12.ca.us  

Elementary School

School

Staff Email Phone
Burbank  Nakiah Stewart ns811@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3805 x 38319
Cherryland Rosemary Vazquez rvazquez@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3810 x 64221
East Ave Danae Griffin dg367@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3815 x 13445
Eden Gardens Leah Ochoa  lo718@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3820 x 14142
Eldridge Solangel Morales Guzman sm779@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3825 x 15408
Fairview Hubert Reed III hreediii@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3830 x 16202
Faith Ringgold Latanya Campbell lcampbell@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3865 x 22216
Glassbrook  Diana Perez-Orona dp167@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3835 x 17408
Harder Corinn Morrison cm405@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3840 x 12600
Longwood 

Alexandra Max

am856@husd.us

(510) 723-3850 x 20213
Lorin Eden  Leah Ochoa  lo718@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3855 x 21207
Palma Ceia  Cynthia Veloz-Montes cveloz-montes@husd.k12.ca.us

(510) 723-3870 x 24105

Park  Sandra Morales smorales@husd.k12.ca.us  (510) 723-3875 x 25402
Ruus Maria Ramirez mr786@husd.k12.ca.us  (510) 723-3875 x 27216
Schafer Park  Jocelyn Ayala-Castro ja143@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3885 x 29237
Southgate Eduardo Picazo  ep101@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 876-3273
Stonebrae Jennifer Rivera jr529@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3910 x 32404
Treeview Andrea Rivera arivera1@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3925 x 35405
Tyrrell  Wendy Porras walfaro@husd.k12.ca.us

(510) 723-3935 x 37121

Middle School

School Name Email Phone
Anthony Ochoa Sonia Hiester 

sh615@husd.k12.ca.us

(510) 723-3130 x 43123     
Bret Harte Elsa Zamora ezamora@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3100 x 40403
Cesar Chavez Maria Reyes mariareyes@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3110 x 41237
Martin Luther King Jr.        Wandra Williams ww2011@husd.k12.ca.us  (510) 723-3120 x 42132          
Winton Karina Gutierrez kgutierrez@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3140 x 44201

High School

School Name Email Phone
Brenkwitz Briseya Aguilar baguilarramos@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3160 x 60137
Hayward High Avneet Gandhi agandhi@husd.k12.ca.us

(510) 723-3170 x 61202

Mt. Eden Maria Duenas mduenas@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3180 x 62300
Tennyson Julieta Martinez jm365@husd.k12.ca.us  (510) 723-3190 x 63149

The Parent Resource Hub

Role Name Email Phone

Family Engagement Specialist

Lizbeth Cedillo Varela  lc423@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3857 x 34222
Family Engagement Specialist Farial Eliza Nazari fj343@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3857 x 34184
Family Engagement Specialist  Newcomer Services Josefina Garcia   jgarcia@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3857 x 34103
Office Specialist Paola Arroyo pv502@husd.k12.ca.us (510) 723-3857 x 34221

Other Sites

Site Name Email Phone

District Office
Family Support Technology Team

Jessica Azpetia jazpeitia@husd.k12.ca.us                        (510) 784-2600 x 72701

Various Sites - SUB

Evelyn Rueda        erueda@husd.k12.ca.us
Various Sites - SUB John Masis jm991@husd.us
Various Sites - SUB Angelica Mora  amora@husd.k12.ca.us