Skip To Main Content

Educational Services

Welcome to the Educational Services Division!

The Educational Services Division's mission is to provide high-quality support to our teachers, principals, counselors, and staff in service of deeper learning for all.

Educational Services Division - Administration

Dr. Lisa Davies
Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x72655
Email: ldavies@husd.us

Adriana Montes
Senior Executive Assistant of Educational Services
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72655                                
Email: amontes@husd.us

School Leadership & Accountability (SL&A)

The Directors of School Leadership and Accountability, collectively play a crucial role in shaping the leadership, development, and support of school site principals. Our responsibilities encompass providing direction, oversight, and district leadership, contributing to the establishment of systems and supports that enhance student achievement across HUSD schools.

Dr. DiShawn Givens
Director of SL&A - Elementary                                          Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72496                               
Email: dgivens@husd.us

Dr. Mallanie Harris
Director of SL&A - Secondary
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72497
Email: mlharris@husd.us

Bernardo Varela
Director of SL&A - Elementary
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72495                               
Email: bvarela@husd.us

Marisol Cothern
Office Specialist
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72799
Email: mc197@husd.k12.ca.us

Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment

The Curriculum and Instruction Department is dedicated to supporting the Hayward Unified School District learning community by providing the best possible learning opportunities for students.

Hector Garcia
Director of Curriculum, Instruction and Assessment
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72618
Email: hgarcia@husd.us

Dr. Shea Gregory
Administrator - Elementary Literacy
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72493
Email: sgregory@husd.us

Michelle Root
Administrator - Professional Development
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72568
Email: mcanada@husd.us

Urayah Bellow
Administrative Secretary
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72618
Email: ub548@husd.us

Craig McKinley
Administrator - STEAM, VAPA, GATE
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x  72748
Email: cmckinley@husd.us

Heather Figueroa
Music Coordinator
Phone: (510)784-2600 x  72494
Email: hf139@husd.us

Equity and Anti-Bias/Anti-Racism

The Hayward Unified School District (HUSD) is committed to establishing and sustaining a community that shares a collective responsibility to recognize, interrupt, dismantle, and eliminate actions, decisions, and outcomes that result from and perpetuate racism. HUSD rejects all forms of racism as destructive to its mission of educational equity. We make this commitment as part of our strategic plan to develop life-long learners supported by inequitable and engaging learning environments that draw upon our community’s rich diversity.

Dr. Candace Cofield
Administrator
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72731                               
Email: ccofield@husd.us

Supplemental & Concentration Services

Supplemental & Concentration Services works to support district and site staff in overseeing compliance and program requirements of the Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA), including monitoring categorical program and funding through Title I and Economic Impact Aid. The department also provides oversight for Private Schools and Charter Schools.

Sandra Escobedo
Director of Supplemental & Concentration
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72584
Email: sescobedo@husd.us

Clayton Buetz
Administrative Secretary
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72607
Email: cbuetz@husd.k12.ca.us

Multilingual Learners

Guided by the Master Plan for English Language Learners and committed to student, teacher and parent success, we support a powerful instructional program for English Language Learners, Grades K-12.

Angelica Alamillo Perez
Director
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x  72629                               
Email: alperez@husd.us

Dominica Rodrigues
Office Specialist
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72498                               
Email: dbennett@husd.us

Early Learning

Our program offers infants, toddlers, & preschool-aged children a warm, safe, inclusive environment in which they are encouraged to learn and grow in a  developmentally appropriate manner through play-based, experiential learning.

Kristina Adams
Program Director
Phone: (510) 723-3880 x 26103                               
Email: kadams@husd.us

Deborah Klimas
Administrative Secretary
Phone: (510) 723-3880 x 26103                               
Email: dklimas@husd.us

College and Career Readiness

Veronica Ortiz
Coordinator
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72778                               
Email: vortiz@husd.us

[VACANT]
Office Specialist
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72537                               
Email: 

Alternative Education

Kwasi Reed
Director
Phone: (510) 783-4001                                
Email: kreed@husd.us

Kimako Strickland
Administrative Secretary
Phone: (510) 783-4001                                
Email: kstrickl@husd.us

Visit Our Departments

HUSD Early Literacy Plan

HUSD Literacy Plan - 2023

Early Literacy Support Block Grant (ELSBG)

AB 104 Retention and Grading

Extension Update: October 1, 2021

Policy Communications

Title V CCR

Each school district and county office of education shall have the primary responsibility to ensure that its programs and activities are available to all persons without regard to sex, sexual orientation, gender, ethnic group identification, race ancestry, national origin, religion, color, or mental or physical disability. Each local agency shall investigate complaints of unlawful discrimination in its programs or activities.

Dr. Lisa Davies
Title V Coordinator, Assistant Superintendent of Educational Services
Phone: (510) 784-2600 x 72655
Email: ldavies@husd.us
Address: 22411 Amador St, Hayward, CA 94544