Skip to main content

Welcome to Induction!

 

The VISION of the Hayward Induction Program builds upon the teacher preparation program of participating teachers to build habits of mind for effective teaching practices and to develop life-long learners. Ultimately,the Hayward Induction Program strives to retain teachers in the teaching profession and achieve educational equity.

Mission Statement: The Hayward Induction Program mission is to provide our students with teachers who reflect on their practice, collaborate with others, and seek opportunities to grow professionally.  Teachers are supported while establishing and providing a safe, inclusive, and equitable learning environment that will enable all students to meet and exceed content standards.

Admission/Application Procedures: At the time of employment, the district Credential Technician will assist you with enrolling in the Induction Program by completing an HR Intake form for Induction. A thorough evaluation of your credential status by the Credential Technician will be provided to all teachers at the point of hire regarding eligibility for the Hayward Teacher Induction Program. It is the beginning teacher's responsibility to furnish a copy of his/her Preliminary Credential or letter of issuance from the university stating completion of a Preliminary Credential program to the Credential Technician. Teachers determined to be eligible for the Induction Program will be contacted by an Induction team member in order to set up a one on one enrollment and advisement meeting. At this meeting, teachers will submit a fully completed application and a Memorandum of Understanding. Items that will be reviewed include their Preliminary Credential or verification of completion of Year 1 (if a Year 2 transfer Candidate), renewal codes and a potential Mentor match based on credential type and/or authorization. This Mentor match will be made within 30 days of enrollment in the HUSD Teacher Induction Program. Candidates will also be advised of the dates for the mandatory Induction Orientation Workshop to be attended by both the Candidate and Mentor so that they may begin their collaboration and create goals for the Individual Learning Plan (ILP) within 60 days of enrollment.

2 Year Teacher Induction Outline

BTSA logo.jpg

Contacts:

Phoebe Williams
Program Coordinator
phwilliams@husd.us
ext. 72749

Kim Watts
Director of Certificated Personnel
kwatts@husd.us
ext.72570

Anna Padgett
Induction Program Team Member
apadgett@husd.us
ext. 72508

Joel Tebbs
Induction Program Team Member
jtebbs@husd.us
ext. 72532

Angelica Alamillo-Perez
Induction Program Team Member
alperez@husd.us
ext. 72783

Michelle Dickson
Office Specialist
mdickson@husd.us
ext. 72804

Debra Forrest
Special Ed Liaison, Progam Specialist
dforrest@husd.us
ext. 72575

Annette Higares

Credential Technician (G-N)
ahigares@husd.us
ext. 72690

Marisol Landeros

Credential Technician (O-Z)
malanderos@husd.us
ext. 72649

 

Marie Salta
Credential Technician (A-F)
msalta@husd.us
ext. 72709

 

Teacher Induction Advisory Board

 

24411 Amador Street
Hayward, CA 94540-5000
510-784-2600